The Department of Zoology began its glorious existence in 1951 with Prof. J. C. George as founder head (1951-1967). Prof. R. V. Shah (1967-1983), Prof. P. M. Ambadkar (1983-1990), Prof. B. Pilo (1990-1998), Prof. A. V. Ramachandran (1998-2002), Prof. (Miss) M. V. Asnani (2003-2005) built the department as successive heads. Presently the department is headed by Prof. P. C. Mankodi.

Departmental thrust areas for research include Avian Physiology, Biodiversity, Development and Regeneration Endocrinology, Entomology, Fisheries and Aquatic Biology, Marine Biology, Ornithology, Reproductive Physiology and Endocrinology, Phytotherapeutics and Metabolic physiology, Cancer Biology, Toxicology and Neurobiology.

The department was awarded DRS in 1982 and later continued as DSA from 1992-2003. Further recognition of research activities resulted into funding through
COSIST and FIST Programs. Department also received Infra structure development grant under UGC-BSR scheme. Various funding angencies like UGC, ICAR, DST, DBT, MoES-OASTC, GSBTM, GBB etc. has provided funds for several research projects.

The department imparts education for B. Sc. and M. Sc. Zoology under CBCS. Several students obtained their Ph. D. Degree (174) in various sub disciplines of Zoology.

Head of Department

  • Dr. Pradeep C. Mankodi
    Department of Zoology

    Designation: Professor

    Qualification: Ph. D. (Zoology) 1988, Saurashtra University, Rajkot, M. Sc. (Zoology) 1982, Saurashtra ...
    Phone Nos: +919426981489
    Email: pcmankodi@yahoo.com
    Experience: Professor (April 2013 to Present) Department of Zoology, Faculty of Science, The M. S. University ...
    Areas of Interest: * Taxonomy of fishes and marine Anthozoans: Morphological and molecular
    * Coastal ecology: General