Thrust Areas of Research:
  1. Condensed Matter Physics
  2. Applied Optics and optical imaging
  3. Thin film electronic devices and sensors
  4. Luminescence
  5. Theoretical nuclear and high energy physics and quantum chaos.

Department is actively contributing to research in various fields. All the faculty members are engaged in research activities and have garnered research grants from central/state government as well as industrial agencies.
Research Projects Number Funds Received So far
Departmental  Projects / Grants
(UGC-DRS Phase I & II, DST-FIST, GUJCOST, UGC Infrastructure)
06 Rs. 2.60 Crores
Individual Research Projects 20 Rs. 3.07 Crores
Total 26 Rs. 5.67 Crores
The department has advanced level research laboratories in the areas of condensed matter physics, applied optics, optoelectronics, display materials and theoretical computational physics. The department also has a central instrument laboratory with instruments like atomic force microscope, UV-Vis spectrometer, FTIR spectrometer, spectrophotofluorometer etc. Many faculty members have research collaborations as mentioned in the following table:
Faculty Member with designation Past and Current Collaborations
1 Dr. Arun Pratap
Dr. Srikumar Banerjee, Ex-Chairman DAE and
Former Director of BARC, Mumbai.
2 Dr. K V R Murthy
Associate Professor
Dr. Louis Rey
3 Dr. C J Panchal
Associate Professor
Dr. Ivan Protasenko, Professor
Summy State University, Ukraine.
4 Dr. Arun Anand
Assistant Professor
Dr. Braham Javidi, Board of Trusties’ Distinguished Professor, University of Connecticut, USA.
Dr. Wolfgang Osten, Professor & Director, Institute for Technical Optics, University of Stuttgart, Germany.
Dr. Rainer Leitgeb, Professor, Medical University of Vienna, Austria.
Dr. Zeev Zalvesky, Professor, Isreal.
5 Dr. Naveen Acharya
Assistant Professor
Dr. Y K Vijay, Professor of Physics, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur.
Dr. B. D. Freeman, Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Texas, Austin, USA.
Dr. V. Kulshrestha, CSMCRI, Bhavnagar.
6 Dr. Kirit N Lad
Assistant Professor
Dr. Noel Jakse, Professor, SIMAP Lab,  University of Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France
Dr. Alain Pasturel, Professor, University of Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France
Dr. Walter Kob, Professor, Laboratoire Charles Coulomb, Universite Montpellier, France.
MoU signed with Industrial Partners:
Applied Physics Department signed a research agreement with Siemens Corporate Technologies (R&D division of Siemens) for the period of 2013-2016. Main focus of this collaboration will be on the development of health care devices using optical coherence tomography, digital holography and lens-less imaging techniques.